Aftermath of Mother’s Day

When I was growing up, I remember several very sad Mother’s Days for my mother. My dad not only considered it a commercial holiday but that SHE wasn’t HIS mother so . . . I’m here to tell you that any husband that takes that view of the holiday isn’t appreciating his wife enough either through ignorance or a warped sense of responsibility. I hear this from other mothers all too often and that is hurtful and a shame.

Fine, the husband doesn’t consider it his place to gift his wife with a card or flowers on Mother’s Day. Well, she is still the mother of his children so why isn’t he taking said children out shopping for a few thoughtful goodies for THEIR mother? Besides making his wife feel appreciated, he would be teaching his children a life lesson on respect, kindness and love. And, you have to wonder if the husband hasn’t been enjoying treats and cards on Father’s Day orchestrated by his wife. Something to think about!

Yes, Mother’s Day is a huge day for florists, candy stores, and shops. Just the line up of frantic men with bouquets at Costco reflects that some husbands may forget and then rush to make it up. Yes, the commercial side of our lives makes a bundle on the holiday but there are a lot of mothers in our world. Supply and demand, don’t you know!

Basically, treating your wife as something special every day of the year is a hallmark of an appreciative husband but increasing the love and consideration on this ‘commercial’ holiday is a major culmination of all your appreciation this one Sunday in May. There is no commercial side in the one-to-one gifting to a wife on Mother’s Day. It is also a memory for the children so they remember on their own as they grow older that mothers work hard for them and are thrilled with a bit of thoughtfulness. Think about it . . . What would Jesus do?

”I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life”- Abraham Lincoln

One thought on “Aftermath of Mother’s Day

Leave a comment