Potato Chips – The Cost Factor!

Potato chips are one of my favorite treats. Naturally, given that potato chips are mostly fat, it is a rare treat . . . until I saw someone on-line make them in the microwave. Although we have a large turntable in our microwave, it didn’t hold many slices so I experimented and found that lining baking sheets with parchment paper works just as well and almost as quickly. The original version called for generously oiling the surface to the potato slices don’t stick. My first attempt was okay but too oily. Placing them on the parchment and then spraying them with vegetable oil spray gave them the necessary crisp potential without added calories.

I also began to see what a profit is made by the potato chip companies, too. I sliced one, unpeeled potato very thinly and probably got more than 100 slices. I had four parchment-line baking sheets in the oven at 350 degrees and the microwave turntable filled to capacity,one layer deep. Surprisingly, the oven method went almost as quickly as the microwave chips. By the time I finished, I had a large bowl of chips almost equivalent to a good-sized purchased bag for a lot less money and way fewer calories. I felt decadent eating a whole bowl of my chips and kept reminding myself that the calories were mainly from the actual potato and it was only one potato!

In the microwave, it can take up to four minutes depending on the power. In a 350 degree oven, you are looking at five to six minutes but they can burn more quickly so need to be watched.

P1000107P1000106

Leave a comment